top of page
Reading with Coffee

Welcome to The Literature Club

Learn More
Post: Welcome

12 shots (chapter one )

Updated: Apr 23, 2021

12 shots: by Lukas Jenkins


“You are going whether you like it or not”my mom barked, I yelled back saying “WHY,WHY DO I HAVE TO GO” her tone rises “Get down here Elijah” I stomped my way down the stairs “what do you want?” “Your attitude needs to stop. You are almost a 15 year old, we are doing this for you.” she stares me down like she wants to yell at me, but she resists “look at your fear of the ocean, there is nothing to worry about, the boat we have is in great condition, it is highly unlikely that we will sink” great condition! I thought to myself that thing is rustier than great grandpa’s metal pocket watch!

Wait a second before we go any further. I need to introduce myself. I am Eligah Smithson my birthdate is july 21st 2004 the current date right now is july 20th 2019 i turn 15 in 1 day. I live in Montgomery, Alabama and i am going on a 2 week trip from alabama to the bahamas of course

It's not going to be all by boat we are going to drive a car there but anyways that's enough for me right now.


My little brother, Jack comes hopping down the stairs “mommy when are we leaving i want to catch a moby and eat him up!” my mother laughs “there are no whales supposed to be on our route, hopefully” in case you don't know my little brother jack is referring to moby dick he was always so obsessed with the story he would ask my dad to retell the story several times. My dad is a sea buff if that's what you call it. He knows about moby dick the titanic and basically every famous sea story. My mom told us to go to bed, and that we have a long day of traveling ahead of us.


I woke up early because mom had made me set my alarm on my phone for 5, and I'm a light sleeper. So as i know it i have to go out to the ocean, I sigh and think to myself maybe mom is right maybe it will help me overcome my fear “we are leaving in about 20 minutes” my dad hollered “ok, i am already up and dressed” “what do you mean” he hollered back again “i mean that i'm ready!” “no you are not, you ate no food, reconsidering your thoughts about the trip?” i reply “I don't know yet” I hurry on with my food and grab my stuff and head out the door “how long will it take us?” “about a couple hours” dad informed me well i'm in for a heck of a road trip I thought,

2 seconds later jack comes running outside to the car saying “IMA CATCH A MOBY DICK!! HAHAHA” i tell him ''there is only one moby dick, you dumb butt” ''that's not nice” he insists well what else should I say it's not like he will die or anything “sorry jack” i said to him, knowing my dad was glaring at me. Alright we better head out my mom rushes to the car and we were off.


15 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Darkness

You know what sucks? Darkness. Not the kind that is physical, but the kind that comes from loneliness, from the bottom of your heart. Almost no one can see it there except yourself. No one knows, or..

Day 237

Day 237 since the plague began. Still no coffee, I'm going insane.

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page